Seashell Tree

Hello!  As many of you already know, my home is decorated in a coastal theme.  This holiday season I wanted incorporate my coastal theme into my Christmas decor!  I started by making a Christmas tree out of seashells!

What you’ll need:

  • Seashells (I purchased mine from Walmart and used a few I had collected from trips to the beach.)
  • Crafting Glue
  • Hot Glue Gun
  • Twine
  • Gems
  • Styrofoam cone shaped base
  • Paint
  • Paintbrush
  • Glass Pebbles

img_6385
To start, I painted the styrofoam cone base and seashells.  For the base I used a teal acrylic paint and for the seashells I used a Martha Stewart pearl paint.   I glued the shells to the base by using part hot glue and part craft glue.  I used two different glues because the hot glue allowed for the shell to quickly stay in place, while the craft glue allowed for a longer more durable hold.  When it comes to these types of crafts, I don’t make a template or layout the design, I just pick and choose as I go.  I tired using glass pebbles but didn’t love the look so I overlapped them with seashells.  After all of the shells were attached, I used twine to wrap around the tree and I added little gems for the finishing touches!

I hope you enjoyed! Happy Crafting!

img_6162-3

Leave a Reply

